

Beaufort County Rural and Critical Land Preservation Board Meeting

Chairman

MICHAEL MATHEWS

Vice Chairman

WALTER MACK

Board Members

ARTHUR BAER
TERRY HILL
DOUGLAS KOOP
JOHN MAFFEI
GAIL O'KANE
RYAN STEFONICK
BEEKMAN WEBB
VACANT DISTRICT 4

Staff Support

ERIC GREENWAY AMANDA FLAKE

Contact

Post Office Drawer 1228 Beaufort, South Carolina 299901-1228 (843) 255-2140

Rural and Critical Land Preservation Board Meeting Agenda

Thursday, June 11, 2020 at 3:00 PM

Webex/County Channel/Beaufort County Government Facebook

- 1. CALL TO ORDER
- 2. FOIA PUBLIC NOTIFICATION OF THIS MEETING HAS BEEN PUBLISHED, POSTED, AND DISTRIBUTED IN COMPLIANCE WITH THE SOUTH CAROLINA FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT
- APPROVAL OF AGENDA
- 4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES March 12, 2020
- 5. CITIZEN COMMENTS PER FACEBOOK (Comments are limited to 3 minutes)

DISCUSSION ITEMS

6. Greenprint Update

ACTION ITEMS

7. RCLPP Application Form

EXECUTIVE SESSION

- 8. Discussion of negotiations incident to proposed contractual arrangements for acquisition of 2019G
- 9. Update on all Current Projects
- 10. MATTERS ARISING OUT OF EXECUTIVE SESSION
- ADJOURNMENT

MINUTES RURAL AND CRITICAL LAND PRESERVATION BOARD RETREAT

March 12, 2020

Beaufort Jasper Water and Sewer Authority Community Room 6 Snake Road, Okatie, South Carolina

The electronic and print media duly notified in accordance with the State Freedom of Information Act.

ATTENDANCE

Present: Committee Chairman Michael Mathews, Committee Vice-Chairman Beek

Webb, Art Baer, Bob Bender, Walter Mack, Ryan Stefonick

Absent: Terry Hill, Doug Koop, Gail O'Kane

County

Council: Alice Howard, York Glover

Staff: Eric Greenway, Community Development Director; Amanda Flake, Natural

Resources Planner; Caylor Romines, BCOLT; Barbara Holmes, BCOLT

Visitors: Andy Fulghum, Jasper County Administrator; Jessie White, Coastal

Conservation League; John Maffei

CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Mathews called the meeting to order at 3:02 p.m.

Public notification of this meeting has been published, posted, and distributed in compliance with the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Motion: It was moved by Mr. Baer, seconded by Mr. Mack to approve the agenda as presented. The vote: YAYS – Chairman Mathews, Vice-Chairman Webb, Mr. Baer, Mr. Bender, Mr. Mack, and Mr. Stefonick. The motion passed.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

February 13, 2020

Motion: It was moved by Mr. Baer, seconded by Mr. Mack to approve the minutes from February 13, 2020. The vote: YAYS – Chairman Mathews, Vice-Chairman Webb, Mr. Baer, Mr. Bender, Mr. Mack, and Mr. Stefonick. The motion passed.

Minutes – Executive March 12, 2020 Page 2 of 3

DISCUSSION ITEMS

Greenprint Update

Mr. Greenway stated that Design Workshop had been hired by the Community Development Department to assist with the Comprehensive Plan update. He recently requested that Design Workshop add an amendment to their contract to perform the Greenprint update. This amendment is scheduled for the Natural Resources Committee meeting for April 6, 2020 for approval. Mr. Greenway stated that the Community Development Department has already had two kickoff Comprehensive Plan Update meetings and plan to have two more in May.

RCLPB Finance Report

Chairman Mathews presented an overview of the Rural and Critical Land Preservation Program Finance report ending March 31, 2020. He wanted to thank Mr. Chris Inglese and Mr. Hayes Williams for help in revising the financial report to clarify some questions. Currently the Program has approximately \$199,478 that includes the encumbrances. Chairman Mathews stated that Mr. Williams would provide quarterly reports throughout the year.

ACTION ITEMS

RCLP Flow Chart

Ms. Barbara Holmes presented the updated flow chart. The flow chart shows a snapshot of the process to include major points in land acquisition where staff, Rural and Critical Board member, the Natural Resources Committee, and County Council are making decisions.

Motion: It was moved by Mr. Baer, seconded by Mr. Mack to approve the RCLP Flow Chart as presented. The vote: YAYS – Chairman Mathews, Vice-Chairman Webb, Mr. Baer, Mr. Bender, Mr. Mack, and Mr. Stefonick. The motion passed.

RCLP Application

Mr. Greenway presented the updated application. He stated that the application had been updated with email for applicant and owner, owner's price expectation, whether they property will be purchased in Fee Simple or PDR (Purchase of Development Rights), and a directions page. This application will eventually be available online. Once a quarter staff and Beaufort County Open Land Trust will rank and submit these applications to the Rural and Critical Board for a decision on which projects to move forward.

Election of Chairman and Vice-Chairman

Motion: It was moved by Mr. Baer, seconded by Mr. Stefonick to nominate Mr. Michael Mathews as Chairman. The vote: YAYS – Vice-Chairman Webb, Mr. Baer, Mr. Bender, Mr. Mack, and Mr. Stefonick. The motion passed.

Minutes – Executive March 12, 2020 Page 3 of 3

Motion: It was moved by Mr. Webb, seconded by Mr. Stefonick to nominate Mr. Walter Mack as Vice-Chairman. The vote: YAYS – Chairman Mathews, Vice-Chairman Webb, Mr. Baer, Mr. Bender, and Mr. Stefonick. The motion passed.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Discussion of proposed purchase of property and issues incident thereto for Project 2019 Dale PDR – Barbara G. Holmes, Beaufort County Open Land Trust

Motion: It was moved by Mr. Baer, seconded by Mr. Stefonick to approve to go into Executive Session. The vote: YAYS – Chairman Mathews, Vice-Chairman Webb, Mr. Baer, Mr. Bender, Mr. Mack, and Mr. Stefonick. The motion passed.

MATTERS ARISING OUT OF EXECUTIVE SESSION

Motion: It was moved by Vice-Chairman Webb, seconded by Mr. Baer, to forward Project 2019 Dale PDR for approval of due diligence expenditures as presented in executive session and send it to the Natural Resources Committee for approval. The vote: YAYS – Chairman Mathews, Vice-Chairman Webb, Mr. Baer, Mr. Bender, Mr. Mack, and Mr. Stefonick. The motion passed.

ADJOURNMENT

Motion: It was moved by Mr. Baer, seconded by Mr. Mack to adjourn the meeting at 4:29 pm. The vote: YAYS – Chairman Mathews, Vice-Chairman Webb, Mr. Baer, Mr. Bender, Mr. Mack, and Mr. Stefonick. The motion passed.

Submitted by:	Amanda Flake, Beaufort County Community Development Natural Resources Planner
Approved:	Mike Mathews, Chairman Beaufort County Rural and Critical Lands Preservation Board
	Date: